about

docs

pricing

oss

consulting

Appearance

User portal walkthrough


Page:
/product


The user portal is the first page you'll see when you first login to floro. You can think of the user portal as your personal profile.




Feed

When you first login, you'll notice a feed section. The feed is broken into three components. Announcements of repositories you subscribe to, new plugins released to floro, as well as new public repositories published to floro.

  • The announcements feed shows you a chronological list of announcements from repositories you subscribe to. Announcements can be useful for communicating amongst a team about new updates to a repository. You can always unsubscribe from a repository.
  • The new plugins feed shows you all the public plugins recently published to floro. This is a helpful way to discover new tools built by the floro community.
  • The new repositories feed shows you all the new public repositories published to floro. As we'll discuss later, you can copy content between repositories in floro. This can be a particularly useful place to find things like new icons and other types of re-usable open source content.

Bookmarks

You'll notice next to the feed there is a bookmarks tab. In floro you are able to bookmark repositories. This is particularly helpful as a quick access features if you contribute to a repository that you are not an organization member of.


Notifications

There are many types of notifications in floro. The vast majority of notifications relate to merge requests you are involved in. As we'lll discuss in a bit, you are able to mute certain types of email notifications in your User Settings.

Repositories

In the upper right corner are your personal repositories. Just as in GitHub, you can have both public and private repositories. Your public repositories will be visible to anyone who visits your profile. Your private repositories will only be visible to you.

Invitations

The invitations section in the lower right corner is where you will find invitations sent to you to join an organization. Invitations are only visible to you. When you are granted write access to a repository, you will find a notification informing you that you have been granted write access in your notifications feed.

Left panel

The panel on the left is where you can edit basic profile details such as your profile picture, and name.




In the left-most bar, you're able to switch between your profile, and the profiles of the organizations you are a part of.

User settings

In the user settings general section, you can set your theme preferences & logout of the app.



From your privacy settings, you can control whether other people on floro can see your bookmarked repositories. You can also hide the organizations you are a part of from your public facing profile.



As mentioned previously, you might get a lot of email from floro. If you want to only receive notifications in the floro app, you can mute the notifications you receive.

Developer settings

Developer settings is where you will manage API Keys that can be connected to your personal repositories.



One important detail to point out is that you can have both local and remote API Keys. Your personal Developer Settings is where you manage all local API Keys, regardless of if you are the owner of the repository.

We will explain the difference between remote and local API Keys as well as when API Keys are used in a later portion of the documentation.

Plugins

Plugin development is covered in the developer documentation. If you want to develop a plugin that is published under your personal-account, you access the plugins you personally own from here.

Create repo

If you are creating a personal repository. You will create the repository from your profile.




There are two options for creating a personal repository. You may make your repository private or public. Private repositories will only ever be accessible by you. You cannot collaborate with others on a private repository. Public repositories are still controlled by you but are publicly visible to everyone. You can grant others push access to your personal public repositories. You cannot grant push access or read access to your personal private repositories.

Just as in GitHub, all personal repositories are hosted free of charge.

Create org

If you are creating an organization, you do this from your personal profile page. You may transfer administrative rights to an organization at a later time but you will be the main administrator after creating the organization.




Organization handles, like usernames, cannot be changed after they are created. Organizations can be created free of charge.

Next section

We'll next be covering navigating the organization portal.